Why are countries suspending AstraZeneca vaccine rollouts? Everything we know so far

On Monday, Germany, France and Italy joined a growing list of countries that have temporarily suspended the rollout of AstraZeneca coronavirus vaccines over reports of blood-clotting.

Authorities in Denmark, Norway and Iceland halted use of the jab last week and several others have stopped using a batch of AstraZeneca doses while investigating any possible link to coagulation disorders.

The EU regulator, the European Medicines Agency (EMA), has said there is no indication that the events were caused by the inoculation, a view that was echoed by the World Health Organisation (WHO).

Which countries have suspended rollout of the AstraZeneca vaccine?

Last week, Denmark, Norway, Iceland and Bulgaria announced they were pausing the rollout of the AstraZeneca vaccine after reports of cases of blood clots forming, including one death.

The move, which was described by Danish officials as “precautionary”, came after Austria stopped using a batch of AstraZeneca doses while investigating a death from coagulation disorders, and an illness from a pulmonary embolism – which occurs when a dislodged blood clot causes a blockage in the lungs.

Thailand became the first country outside Europe to delay use of the vaccine, followed by the Democratic Republic of Congo. Health officials in Bangkok have since given the green light for AstraZeneca jabs to be administered.

Estonia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Romania and Latvia have stopped using particular batches while an investigation continues.

Source link

Related posts