Laser breakthroughs win physics Nobel

Laser breakthroughs win physics Nobel

Image copyright

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to three scientists for their inventions in laser physics.

Arthur Ashkin, from the US, Gerard Mourou, from France, and Donna Strickland, from Canada, will share the nine million kronor (£770,686) prize.

Dr Ashkin developed a laser technique described as optical tweezers, which is used to study biological systems.

Drs Mourou and Strickland developed a way of generating high intensity and very short laser pulses.

Donna Strickland is only the third female physics laureate and the first woman in 55 years to win the prize.

That was the German-born American physicist Maria Goeppert-Mayer, who shared the prize in 1963 for discoveries about the nuclei of atoms.

Previous winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics

Image copyright
S.Ossokine/A.Buonanno (MPI Gravitational Physics)

Image caption

A computer simulation of gravitational waves radiating from two merging black holes

2017 – Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne and Barry Barish earned the award for the detection of gravitational waves.

2016 – David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz shared the award for their work on rare phases of matter.

2015 – Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald were awarded the prize the discovery that neutrinos switch between different “flavours”.

2014 – Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura won the physics Nobel for developing the first blue light-emitting diodes (LEDs).

2013 – Francois Englert and Peter Higgs shared the spoils for formulating the theory of the Higgs boson particle.

2012 – Serge Haroche and David J Wineland were awarded the prize for their work with light and matter.

Source link

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply